And Another Thing…

The Short Version

OOPS, I DID IT AGAIN

I PLAYED WITH YOUR BLOGROLL

GOT LOST IN THE ‘SPHERE

go here


The Medium Version

I originally wrote up around a thousand words on this topic (which you can read in all their glory in “the long version” below), but then I read Scamp’s post.  What he said about me struck a chord:

No, because I don’t want to step on people’s toes simply for the sake of step­ping on people’s toes. Mikoto/Fangzhao/Flomu can get away with that because that’s his shtick. His inter­net per­sona is built up so that he can ‘get away’ with doing that (for a given value of ‘get away with’) and I’m glad people like him exist. Someone needs to give vari­ous parts of the blo­go­sphere a kick up the hole every now and then. It’s just I don’t want to be that per­son. I’m too much of a pussy to do that so directly.

You see, my internet persona may have developed into a metablogging prince of drama, but I never intended it to turn out like this!  Although I find anime interesting (and Nichijou orgasm-inducing), I like talking about blogging more.  What goes on in a blogger’s head when they write their posts?  Why can they write something like this and I can’t?

In a way, this has helped me understand what I like and dislike about blogging in general.  I don’t like “academic” blogs.  Blogs thrive on comments.  Posts should have voice.  A blog should be organized.  Episodics need not give a summary.  Things like this.

But if I continue down this path, I can see myself becoming a more outspoken form of Author.  A less oldfag version of lolikitsune.  A less popular and more personal form of the two.  When I started anime blogging, I took a look at those two blogs and wondered why anybody would make a blog about anime blogs.  It just seemed so stupid – and it still does!  So this isn’t a road I want to walk down.

But what else can you do?

Yeah, okay, so maybe the only thing I’m half-decent at is metablogging.  I originally wanted to write many different blogs under different pseudonyms using different styles talking about different things (episodics, editorials, etc.)… but then I realized I would burn out halfway through.  I ain’t got the dedication for that.

Instead, I’ve landed on the “ultimate ‘white base’ blog” http://flomu.wordpress.com, where I’ll be exploring different ways of aniblogging.  I hope you’ll join me on this journey.  And I hope I can last long enough for it to be worthwhile for you.

The Long Version

(aka the second draft of this post)

P.S.: I’ll be at flomu.wordpress.com for the foreseeable future, so it’s safe to blogroll me away!

P.P.S.: I set flomu.wordpress.com as my main blog earlier this week and imported misakithursday.wordpress.com, so sorry for all the trackbacks you people have been receiving.  I’ve been having a hell of a time importing back and forth because some comments on one blog aren’t on the other, and vice versa.  I’ll do one last blog synchronization in a couple of days, but after that whatever you say on one blog won’t be transferred to the other.

10 Comments on “And Another Thing…”

  1. Seinime says:

    What’s more to say? Looking forward to the new posts.

    • flomu says:

      There’s a lot to say! But nobody really cares so I locked up all my crap into a hidden page.

      Yay, new blog!

      I’ve hated my stupid URL for three months now.

  2. kevo says:

    If you ever start blogging about bloggers, I’m just going to subtly prod guilt into you until I get mentioned. 😉

    Looking forward to more posts, bro. Blogroll updated.

    • flomu says:

      I will only start blogging about bloggers if the current blogger bloggers mention me first. It’s an exclusive club, you know!

      Blogroll updated.

      Thanks! Now only if all those people linking to Mikotoism would CHANGE THEIR STUPID BLOGROLLS ALREADY!

  3. Scamp says:

    So this makes it….6 blogs altogether now?

    • flomu says:

      Actually, it’s eight! One blog I made before getting into the sphere and one I made under a different username last year. I don’t remember their names, though.

      Hopefully, I won’t switch away from flomu.wordpress.com (my… Endless Eight[h]!).

  4. […] you want to know why I made this move, go read the post at misakithursday.wp.com.  That’s the only post I will not be moving over to this blog because it would be a […]

  5. Valence says:

    Shall I just place both blogs on the blogroll? Think MOY, with an archive site and a newer, wordpress-powered site. Haha.

  6. Hmmmn…

    Setsunaism
    Mikotoism (do these count as one?)
    sometimes
    sometimes (again? your one moment of lack of creativity, one at fanghzao, one is someanimeblog)
    Misaki Thursday
    This thing

    That’s all I have.

  7. Mushyrulez says:

    “…and Nichijou orgasm-inducing”

    This sentence strikes me as very very bad. You intentionally get orgasms from Nichijou? You sick, sick, sicker


Leave a Reply

